Posted by: passedportsnyc | February 27, 2010

What’s Cooking, Saigon Edition

Vietnamese food embodies everything that I love about eating. It is all about layering: temperatures, flavors, textures, food groups.  It is complex, nuanced.  It is very interactive.  It involves loads of fresh herbs and many different sauces.  You get to prepare each bite just so – it’s like playing with your food for grown ups.  I love that.

So, today I took a cooking class.  Hoa Tuc is a contemporary  Vietnamese restaurant housed in an old opium refinery in the heart of Saigon.  On the menu for our class: Canh chua tom/ Sour prawn soup, Mi xao don/ Crispy noodles with calamari and vegetable, Banh Xeo/ Vietnamese pancake (my favorite Vietnamese dish), and Passionfruit custard.  YUM!

Canh Chua Tom / Sour Prawn Soup

Crisping the Noodles

Banh Xeo in the Wok

Incidentally, this was the first time I ever used a wok.  I remember that my mother got a wok at some point when I was a child (as a gift, perhaps?).  It sat in its box in our pantry, unused, for as long as I can remember.  As I discovered today, it is heavier than I imagined, but not nearly as scary.

Banh xeo, dipping sauce, and spices

Responses

  1. I was so confused about what to buy, but this makes it undresadtnable.

  2. FFo1X0 elweduffsxft

  3. MEd02T pvcmtvdjvssy


Leave a Reply

Categories

