Posted by: passedportsnyc | December 16, 2009

India: love it or hate it?

December 11  Out of all of our proposed destinations, India is the one that I have been most apprehensive about.  I have long been fascinated by Indian history and culture, and have long thought it was a place I should explore.  A lot of people say you haven’t really travelled until you’ve been to India.  I’ve always been curious about it, but I’ve never had a longing to go there, the way I have about so many other places.  Though I’ve always felt I should go, I’ve never desperately wanted to go.  I think in the back of my mind I was worried I wouldn’t like it.
Adding to my apprehension is the fact that before we left home we planned our journey only up through the Africa portion of the trip.  Beyond that, the extent of the planning was: go to India.  We never got around to getting a guidebook or doing any research or planning.  Yesterday we reserved a hostel online for our first night in Delhi.  That is the extent of our planning for the next 6 weeks. Which is probably a mistake. We arrive today. 
But here we are, the moment of truth.  Everyone says you love India or hate it, there is no in between.  I will keep you posted.
Responses

  1. […] https://passedports.wordpress.com/2009/12/16/india-love-it-or-hate-it/ […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

