Posted by: passedportsnyc | November 19, 2009

The Anticlimax

We spent nearly two weeks in Cape Town and I only wrote one post about it (this makes two). Perhaps that says more than anything I could write. It was a great place to recharge and regroup after three months of taxing African travel. But it didn’t wow me the way I expected it would. Many people would be quick to argue this point – what about Table Mountain? What about the wine route? But you didn’t go shark cage diving! And so on and so forth.

 

True, we didn’t go up Table Mountain; after the first day we never even caught a glimpse of it because it was shrouded in clouds. True we never made it to Robben Island; the ferry boats were cancelled every day on account of the rough seas. Same goes for the shark cage diving excursions. The bicycle trip around wine country was cancelled because of rain. Oh, and that fantastic temperate climate everyone raves about? Well, on account of the cold front I had to wear every article of clothing in my backpack at all times.

 

Cape Town does seem like a lovely city, and I don’t hold it against the city that we had bad luck with the weather while we were there. And I certainly appreciated the indulging in the comforts of home for a few days. But I just didn’t think it was as great as everyone claims.

 

Sitting in the plane on the runway, taking off from Cape Town to Hong Kong, the sun came out. The city looked beautiful. Perhaps I will give it another chance someday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

