Posted by: passedportsnyc | August 12, 2009

Apparently the Pyramids Aren’t the Only Ancient Thing Around Here

I am moments away from bashing my head against the wall in frustration at the Egyptian computer situation.

Every hostel claims to have internet, and the connections tend to be decent – though not great – judging by those using their own laptops. But the computers seem to be contemporaneous to the pyramids, making it all but impossible to upload photos (and in many cases, actually impossible).

Unfortunately, the computers in Internet cafes are generally of the same vintage as those in the hostels, and therefor often lack basic things such as USB ports, functioning microphones, and so on.

I almost brought a laptop and am really regreting the decision not to. Though the connection might be slow, at least hours of uploading wouldn’t require hours in a smokey internet cafe (or money). I might buy a cheap netbook when we reach Amman in a few days, or have someone back home ship one to me if that’s cheaper.

In any case, I apologize for the delay in posts and especially pictures, but I can’t bring myself to post about the pyramids and other aspects of our time in Egypt without photos – words alone just don’t do them justice.

Meantime, I’m working on it…

Leave a Reply

Categories

